Author Topic: My first build  (Read 1959 times)

Offline LimbLover

My first build
« on: June 14, 2012, 02:31:45 pm »
Well you have all truly inspired me. I couldn't stop after finishing up my U-finish hickory project. I had to do a board bow. This is red oak from Lowes. I backed with drywall and am now starting to tiller. The limbs are at 5/8" and will have to come down quite a bit I would imagine, but I didn't want to take them down too far initially. I'm a little concerned about the board itself. It had the straightest grains out of all of the boards I inspected and no warp whatsoever, but I'm new to this and have little experience with picking good bow building wood. It could fail on my first shot for all I know, but this has been a great experience. I did all of the woodworking with Sure Form and files.

Tattoo Dave has been a HUGE help. I've been PM'ing daily. A big thanks to him.

Offline darwin

Re: My first build
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2012, 05:03:01 pm »
Looking good so far might have to be careful or your handel will pop off when you shoot

Offline Eric Krewson

« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2012, 05:14:20 pm »
Yep, the handle piece is too short, needs to be about 2" longer on each end so you can feather it into the limbs like this.

Offline DarkSoul

• Orion Bows
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2012, 06:11:12 pm »
That oak has some pretty poor grain :( How many layers of drywall tape did you put on? And what glue did you use? Three layers of drywall tape embedded in wood glue would be best, but still, I really hope it will hold it together...that grain run-off might be too severe for even such a backing.
"Sonuit contento nervus ab arcu."
Ovid, Metamorphoses VI-286

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2012, 07:26:14 am »