Author Topic: bandsaws  (Read 3804 times)

Offline trad bow

bandsaws
« on: June 15, 2012, 06:35:13 pm »
What is the best size bandsaw for reducing wood to near bow working size?

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
Re: bandsaws
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2012, 06:51:18 pm »
The biggest you can afford and have room for.
Del
Health warning, these posts may contain traces of nut.

Offline LivingElemental

• Appalachi/Wataugi/East Tennessee
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2012, 07:00:00 pm »
Just be careful and keep it lubricated. I've seen what can happen to a body should the saw be kept poorly maintained and break in motion.
It can snap out of there like a rattlesnake on crack.

I don't use them for my bows, but I know it severely cuts down on time spent roughing them out.
Alzamaal illi yadour 'ala qurnayn fakhira, yarja' idhana maqtu'a.

Offline lesken2011

• Kenny
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2012, 08:06:29 pm »
I have been researching them for the last several months. I watched Craigs List for a few months, but never found what I was looking for. I've heard people that have had success with some of the 12" saws, but I decided to get one a little bigger since most of the bow wood you work with is pretty hard stuff. I settled on the Grizzly 1hp that is on sale right now for $100 off. I just got it in last week and will put it all together this weekend.
For by grace you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves; it is the gift of God, not of works, lest anyone should boast.

Ephesians 2:8-9

Kenny from Mississippi, USA

Offline soy

• pm106221
« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2012, 08:19:32 pm »
Sweet post pics o the new bear...love my griz
Is this bow making a sickness? or the cure...

Offline dmikeyj

« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2012, 11:31:46 pm »