Author Topic: Chokecherry Holmie-ish Bow - Good enough to finish?  (Read 5100 times)

Offline Cameroo

• Cam's Stuff
Chokecherry Holmie-ish Bow - Good enough to finish?
« on: May 15, 2011, 09:50:14 pm »
I've been slowly chipping away at this bow for a couple months (take some wood off, let it dry... take some more off, let it dry some more...) and have it pretty much floor tillered, but have encountered an issue with the string tracking.  When I roughed this out, it looked like it was going to line up perfect, but after nature had it's way with it, naturally it warped a bit.  This is my first attempt at a stave bow, so I'm kind of learning as I go.

So I have 2 questions:

1. What's the best way to handle this? Should I try to just straighten it at the handle with steam or dry heat?  I realize I have a bunch of meat to take off in the handle area yet, and will remove some thickness before attempting to straighten it, if that in fact where I should do it.  I'm guessing my other option would be to bend the lever a bit (on the right side of the first pic)

2.  One of the levers took on a little extra reflex.  Should I try to straighten it out, or just leave it as is?

« Last Edit: June 10, 2012, 03:00:29 am by Cameroo »

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
Re: Chokecherry Holmie-ish Bow (Floor Tillered, need help)
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2011, 09:54:19 pm »
It really depends on how dry your wood is now. If it still a fair amount of moisture in it you will probably be better with steam. If you think its dry, then dry heat and a clamps would bring you in line. Its hard to say with knowing how dry it is.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline El Destructo

• Longhaired Crippled Hippie Biker And Proud Of It!!
    • Desert Sportz Primitive Archery
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2011, 09:56:05 pm »