Author Topic: Osage boards  (Read 4908 times)

Offline RobWiden

Osage boards
« on: June 13, 2012, 02:51:06 am »
   I found a couple osage orange boards today. This is really rare stuff in my neck of the woods and I've never worked with it before. If I decide to buy one it will cost about $130, so I want to get all I can out of it. So the question is, if I put a hickory backing on it, can I get away with quite a bit of grain run-out? If I try to follow a ring I'll only get 1 or 2 bows out of it but if I can get away with violating rings, I think I could get 5 or 6 bows.
If I knew what I was doing, I'd probably be bored with it, and I wouldn't be here.

Offline DarkSoul

• Orion Bows
Re: Osage boards
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2012, 06:54:22 am »
You always want straight grain, in any and every bow. With a backed bow, you can get away with a few grain run offs, but ideally you still want straight grain. There's no set number of grain run offs that is still acceptable with a decent backing. But there is a point where the osage will say: "to hell with you, I'm too ill grained to stay in one piece!"
A picture of the specific board you have in mind would help. 25 bucks a bow is still a LOT of money in my book. I wouldn't pay that for second choice wood any time!
"Sonuit contento nervus ab arcu."
Ovid, Metamorphoses VI-286

Offline Eric Krewson

« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2012, 10:59:41 am »
Bamboo back it instead of using hickory would be my suggestion. My finest shooting bows are all bamboo backed osage.

Offline RobWiden

« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2012, 12:05:15 pm »