Author Topic: A little help please - bamboo and other ideas  (Read 2182 times)

Filip

A little help please - bamboo and other ideas
« on: June 06, 2012, 07:51:21 pm »
Hello, again I need some help from you guys. Having my second bow (yup, I'm a beginner) pretty much finished, it still only requires a paint job, that's the post about it if you are interested: http://www.primitivearcher.com/smf/index.php/topic,32078.0.html and some spare time on my hands, I decided to make some more bows. I will appreciate any input on the following matters:

No1. I'm about to buy some wide diameter bamboo form one website but I can't decide. If I buy 10 feet bamboo and use 6 feet of it to back a bow, can I use two remaining 4feet pieces to back a single 6feet bow? Basically, is it alright to use two pieces of bamboo, which would meet at a handle that doesn't bend, to back a bow or am I off better buying 2 metre long bamboo that will back only one bow?

No2. I store my wood in my room and I know that moisture levels in the air and wood are important. I have a small moisture meter, the one they use in reptile tanks and it reads between 30% - 40% which I believe is too low as it means the wood moisture level is below 8% (is that correct?) Is this alright or should I look for another place to store my boards for bows?

No3. I get all my timber in boards and I was thinking to make a small hotbox from a cardboard tube to speed up the drying process and to control the moisture level in the wood better. What do you think, is it a good idea, do I even need it?