Author Topic: Hickory Backed Osage Takedown Longbow  (Read 8390 times)

Offline jcshell

Hickory Backed Osage Takedown Longbow
« on: June 05, 2012, 12:40:00 am »
I am somewhat new to traditional archery and bow making.  I made my first self bow two years ago after finding a nice osage log in the woods and becoming fascinated with its hidden potential.  Out of that log and a lot of work and learning I ended up with a functional bow, though not pretty or very efficient.  After that experience I was hooked and captivated by all-wood traditional bows.  During the two years since that first self bow I have experimented with many different native woods and bow making techniques in an attempt to achieve the most functional, aesthetically pleasing, and efficient longbow possible.  I was not happy with the hassles of traveling with the one piece bows that I made and I began to plan and dream of making a takedown longbow.  The bow you see here is the result of that quest.