Author Topic: 2nd bow is nearly done- a few questions  (Read 8797 times)

Offline Judo Point

Re: 2nd bow is nearly done- a few questions
« Reply #15 on: June 06, 2012, 11:58:34 am »
Chicknlady your doing a great job and have got some excellent bowyers given ya advice so I'm gonna leave that to them since I'm pretty new at making them myself but I do have a tip for ya on your arrows I put a narrow strip of high reflective tape around the shaft behind the feathers infront of the nock that way if they dig under the grass you can go out just at dusk and shine a flashlight and they'll jump right out at ya. Ya might wanna give it a try. Well good luck and looking forward to see your progress.

Offline Parnell

« Reply #16 on: June 06, 2012, 12:28:00 pm »
You're reminding me of myself 3 years ago.  When I went to visit Eddie Parker he gave me the heads up on how to do it.  He just coated the belly and blasted away at it with a heat gun constantly moving the gun heating a large area...hitting the sides...briefly and lightly over the back...hitting the belly in circular motions until the wood begins to sort of give.  Take a rag and grab the limb and hold in some reflex on the ground for a couple of minutes 'til it cools.  Repeat if needed!  It's great to clamp a bow in a heat in reflex, don't get me wrong.  It just doesn't have to be done.

Another thing that was a beginner's curve for me was the amount of toasting needed.  I browned the wood before I had seen it done.  You should nearly blacken it - just don't create a coal.  A light sanding will take off the outer portion and you'll have more heat penetration into wood cells.  Work it gradually in - don't just let the treatment be superficial.

P.s.  Next bow - do it a few times during the process.  Make sure to give it an initial heavy treatment just after ground tiller before any set has taken place.
1’—>1’

Offline bubby

« Reply #17 on: June 06, 2012, 04:43:48 pm »