Author Topic: Thin Ringed Osage  (Read 2437 times)

Offline Danzn Bar

Thin Ringed Osage
« on: May 28, 2012, 04:58:02 pm »
I'm new to bow building and to this site. Although, I have been reading for some time now.  I have decided to try my hand at building an osage flatfow.  I have some year old osage stave that has very thin growth rings about 28-32 rings per inch.  I'm looking at a bow 66" ntn and shooting for 50# @ 28".  My question is .............is it best to back the bow even if I can chase one ring the entire back of the bow?  If backing is best what would be a good backing for a beginner.  Any help is very much appreciated.
Thanks,
Integrity is doing the right thing when no one is looking

Offline Badger

Re: Thin Ringed Osage
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2012, 05:26:49 pm »
  You won't need to back it, I just finsihed several thin ringed osage bows and they turned out great.

blackhawk

« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2012, 05:30:45 pm »
Welcome to PA....i would try to keep it at one growth ring the best i could and rawhide back it....and i also wood lay it out a tad wider than you normally wood for normal ringed osage to start with

You could use other backing alternatives but rawhides the simplest and in your case of experience i would keep it as simple as possible.

I personally back any thin ringed osage(anything less than a 1/16")and it sounds like you have only half of that,although if the ring is chased good and you make your dimensions a tad wider then thatll work too,but thats so thin id back it without a doubt

Offline Danzn Bar

« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2012, 07:37:37 pm »
Thanks for the replies...............I'm thinking on backing it with some rawhide.  These ring are very thin and don't want it to explode. Tandy has some goat rawhide that is thin, I've heard that titebond II or III will work.  Now I just need to get working on it.
I'm also going to take your advice to start with it a little longer.
Again thanks for the replies
DB