Author Topic: dads birthday  (Read 2336 times)

Offline darwin

dads birthday
« on: May 22, 2012, 01:31:00 pm »
My dads birthday is coming up and his very expensive rarely used compound bow was recently stolen from his garage, my brothers and I have been into primitive archery for a while now ( I recently made them both bows for their birthdays also) and we thought this would be a good time to get dad involved  to .when I first started building he was very negative about the whole idea he didn't think I could produce a working bow, after looking at the ones I made for my brothers he said that if I ever made him one he would want a light draw weight bow that was still fast shooting that he could use for Target practice, given his earlier negative attitude I take this as a challenge however I am still new to building this being only my 3rd bow so I turn to yall for design advice, in your opinions what's the best way make a bow fast and fun to shoot but still have a low draw weight?

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
Re: dads birthday
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2012, 01:45:21 pm »
Lots of reflex and a fast flight string. 
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline Will H

« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2012, 02:46:37 pm »
I agree with Pearly ;) if it were me I'd put 4" of reflex to start, be sure and make light tips when I finished it up and put a 4-8 stand D-10 sting on it :)
Proud Member of Twin Oaks Bowhunters
           Clarksville, Tennessee

"Middle Tennessee is the place to be"

Offline darwin

« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2012, 03:51:53 pm »
That's good advice, what about limb design? And what would be your choice of wood? Would it need a  backing? Any other advice ? I'm up for a little bit of a challenge on this one

Offline 4est Trekker

« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2012, 04:27:28 pm »