Author Topic: Degreasing ipe?  (Read 2857 times)

Offline Ifrit617

Degreasing ipe?
« on: May 11, 2012, 05:00:19 pm »
Hey Everyone,

I have a piece of ipe that I want to glue up and I have never done this before... I see a lot of people saying they degrease the ipe with acetone before gluing up. Does regular denatured alcohol work as well for this? How about 100% alcohol wipes? I just don't want to have to go buy acetone if I don't have to.... Any help would be great,

Jon

Offline darwin

Re: Degreasing ipe?
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2012, 05:35:29 pm »
I work with both on a daily basis at work (i'm a lab rat) acetone dissolves organic compounds like oil much better than denatured alcohol, its not to expensive either, but your call

Offline DarkSoul

• Orion Bows
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2012, 05:52:46 pm »
Denatured alcohol works as well, while alcohol wipes do not. Those wipes have too little solvent to dissolve all the oils present on the wood.

Many people do not degrease ipé. It´s certainly not necessary. What glue do you use? Many glue will be just fine with a freshly sanded surface. Do wipe off all the dust, though.
"Sonuit contento nervus ab arcu."
Ovid, Metamorphoses VI-286

Offline Ifrit617

« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2012, 06:11:37 pm »
I plan to use TB3... I might go buy some acetone just to be safe...

Anyone else have any input?

Jon

Offline bubby

« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2012, 06:29:42 pm »
i allways wipe mine down with acetone Jon, but i wipe down most everything that i laminate, Bub
failure is an option, everyone fails, it's how you handle it that matters.
The few the proud the 27🏹

Offline lesken2011

• Kenny
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2012, 09:07:43 pm »
I just did an hbi that i cleaned the ipe with denatured alcohol. That's what adb used in his hickory backed osage build a long. I wasn't sure what else to use, but so far, it's holding up!!