Author Topic: Wood for english style warbow  (Read 2051 times)

Offline Will Carothers

Wood for english style warbow
« on: May 13, 2012, 04:42:48 am »
hey guys, ive been building bows for ~2 years now, and i want to make my first true warbow. im only 15, so my funds are very... very limited, so what wood/ or wood combinations do you think would work on this design, and on my type of budget. ive done hickory, cherry, etc; but i know those probably arent the best for this design.

I would preferably get wood as lumber, in board for, and not a stave, because it would be much cheaper and faster.

Offline DarkSoul

• Orion Bows
Re: Wood for english style warbow
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2012, 08:15:21 am »
What do you consider "English style warbow"? What drawweight? The term 'warbow' is very loosly defined as any bow you could take to a war.

Drawweights above 80 pounds or so are hard to achieve with an unbacked boardbow. A stave is generally stronger, since the grain is always followed. A stave you've split from a log, is also cheaper than a board bought in a lumberyard. If you cut the tree yourself, you probably don't have to pay anything. If you insist on using boards (since those are dry already), you're best bet is to laminate some woods together. For selfbows, a split stave of hickory, ash, elm, osage or yew will work.

By the way, have you seen this forum? It's dedicated to warbows, and you might get more replies over there.
"Sonuit contento nervus ab arcu."
Ovid, Metamorphoses VI-286

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2012, 09:46:51 am »
I believe traditionally war bows were made from yew, ash and elm and like DarkSoul said were made from 80# and up.
  If you have only made a few bows you might want to start of with an ELB(English long bow), deep narrow bows are different in tillering than flat bows.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2012, 11:48:15 am by Pat B »
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC