Author Topic: Brand new.....could use some ideas  (Read 4506 times)

Offline chertle

Brand new.....could use some ideas
« on: May 10, 2012, 02:46:28 pm »
I am just getting started knapping.  I have been around it for a little bit and know some of the verbage but I haven't ever tried to knap.  I have access to most of the tools that I would need to get started.  Do you pros suggest I start with a big rock (nodule I think is the word for it) or smaller chunks?  I have never made a bi-face or anything.  I have watched a couple of videos on youtube and I have a book (not sure which one).  I think I just need to get out there and start breaking.  Will probably do it this weekend.  Any advice on the best way to start?
Leslie
Indiana

Offline Tower

Re: Brand new.....could use some ideas
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2012, 02:57:33 pm »
Try & start with a thin spall. There might be a little percussion but must would be pressure flaking. It helps you to understand how the stone fractures.  My opinion.
He who sacrifices freedom for a security deserves neither one.  Benjamin Franklin!

Offline Mesquite

« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2012, 02:59:25 pm »
I would probably start with a good sized chunk, about a softball or a little bigger, try to knock off a chunk and try to process it down a little.  I wouldn't go straight for trying to make something if you a lot of rock on hand, just practice the techniques. If you're short on rock or have to buy it I would try to get smaller chunks that are made by knappers, or are of right shape, so you don't waste a lot of rock practicing.

I started on plate glass from windows and started with making arrow heads. I've never tried a biface or knife blade etc. yet.

yeah, im not too good at the jargon yet either :P

Offline bubby

« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2012, 03:17:10 pm »
Try & start with a thin spall. There might be a little percussion but must would be pressure flaking. It helps you to understand how the stone fractures.  My opinion.