Author Topic: Help Needed, Rookie Board Bow Attempt  (Read 1976 times)

Offline ParamedicArcher

Help Needed, Rookie Board Bow Attempt
« on: May 07, 2012, 09:41:21 pm »
Hello All,
I am very new to primitive archery and excited to find such a great new hobby (like I needed one!). My job (see forum handle) is very stressful, and relaxing hobbies that I can share with my two young sons are a necessity. I have read over so many posts here I almost feel like I've made a thousand new friends.

That being said, I could use some bow first-aid...

I recently followed Sam's Poor Folk Bows red oak board bow build along and have some concerns...

Everything went great, though I tillered w/o a tree, using the 'big mirror' method. It looked and felt great through the tillering process. I took it to full draw a couple of times and all was well, I thought.
Now that I have applied finish I see an obvious hinge in the bow that I somehow missed completely. I noticed it after I applied stain, allowed it to dry (barely, I was so excited to try the thing out), and took it again to full draw. I heard a creaking, almost like a tiny tiny twig breaking @ the site of the hinge. I set the bow upright against the wall and realized how off I was with tillering. My question is this:

Is it too late for this bow? I've spent a lot of time with it and my sons and I have a weird sort of relationship/bond with this dumb piece of wood believe it or not. I'd hate to scrap it and start over if there's anything I can do.

There is no visible damage anywhere, just obvious improper tillering. I used Sam's drywall tape/ TiteBond II backing method and it (the backing) looks to be in fine shape.

Any thoughts are welcome.

Offline Hrothgar

Re: Help Needed, Rookie Board Bow Attempt
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2012, 11:03:20 pm »