Author Topic: osage arrows  (Read 6068 times)

Offline wasanchez

osage arrows
« on: April 14, 2012, 07:04:37 pm »
Anyone ever made arrows out of Osage?

Walt
Walter Sanchez
Moulton, TX

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: osage arrows
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2012, 09:49:56 pm »
I have seen osage arrows before. They would be very heavy.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline soy

• pm106221
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2012, 08:26:33 pm »
I have heard that they are difficult to keep straight, but i have no experience to back that
Is this bow making a sickness? or the cure...

Offline Gus

• It's Time To Make Some Shavings!
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2012, 08:44:51 pm »
I have some Osage Shoots drying with arrows in mind.
But I still have quite a bit of work to do on them before the first one flies.

-gus
"I taught him archery everyday, and when he got good at it he throw an arrow at me."

Conroe, TX

Offline JW_Halverson

« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2012, 12:31:56 am »
I spoke at length with one of PA's advertisers Allegheny Mountain Arrow Shafts.  He said that he had tried again and again with osage and had made some very tough shafts.  BUT he was shocked to find out that even up to 3/8 inch shafts barely made 45# spine!!! 

There was a guy down Missouri way that made poor quality bows claiming this was hogwash and that he would prove me wrong.  So I call him every 6 months or so just to see if he has any shafts for me to try out.  3 years and no shafts.   >:D  Lat time I called he was a little peevish, hehehe. 
Guns have triggers. Bicycles have wheels. Trees and bows have wooden limbs.

mikekeswick

« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2012, 04:26:51 am »
I made some ipe arrows from offcuts and had a similar thing in 5/16th (which you would think would be enough diameter), heavy and no spine.

Offline bowtarist

• Primitive Archer Subscription Number PM103651
« Reply #6 on: April 18, 2012, 11:34:54 am »