Author Topic: new to bow making- first stave  (Read 2609 times)

Offline Justin Steele

new to bow making- first stave
« on: April 28, 2012, 12:17:21 am »
This is my first attempt at building a bow. I went out and cut a hickory tree then roughed it in with a hatchet. There are a few knots in it-which I'm sure will give me trouble but this is my first bow and I want to use what I have. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. 

Offline SA

Re: new to bow making- first stave
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2012, 12:33:50 am »
the knots on the side are what might give ya trouble  , be carefull not to cut into them, try to leave some wood around them . if there towards the tips you might be able to just cut'em out when you taper down 8'' or 10'' or so ::) . other than that looks like a good little stick,have fun and enjoy the process. :)

oh and you might want to strap it down to a 2x4 or something while it drys so you don't have a twisted warped stave in a few months .
« Last Edit: April 28, 2012, 12:37:02 am by sa »
Shawn Acker

Offline Justin Steele

« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2012, 12:53:56 am »
Thanks for the tip on strapping it down. I'm wanting to build a simple d bow and am hoping that the taper of my bow will wind up inside of the knot (the one on the side) as opposed to through it but I'm not really sure. If it ends up being directly in the way what would I do? Make a wider bow? Use it for firewood? Thanks for the advice.

Offline Bevan R.

« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2012, 12:56:29 am »
It looks to me like you have quite a bunch of wood to work with. I would strap it down, slide it under the bed, look for more wood, start on arrows.
Bowmakers are a little bent, but knappers are just plain flaky.

Offline toomanyknots

« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2012, 02:14:59 am »
And so it begins...
"The way of heaven is like the bending of a bow-
 the upper part is pressed down,
 the lower part is raised up,
 the part that has too much is reduced,