Author Topic: new to primitive archery  (Read 4381 times)

Offline Dclarke

new to primitive archery
« on: April 26, 2012, 11:55:22 am »
Hello all

My name is Doug and I am new to Primitive archery. This is just my second post.
I am a PE teacher in Central NY just north of Syracuse. A couple of years ago I was certified as a basic instructor through the NASP program. I have taught archery in my classes since then.
I have become interested in making my own bow. I will have very many questions in the near future and have been learning as much as I can from this site.
I would like to cut some wood for staves and I would like to know what you would suggest as good bow woods that can be gathered from the Central NY area. (please remember that I am a complete newbie when it comes to this!) ;)
Also while I wait for that wood to cure i would take any suggestions to where I could get some seasoned staves to start my first bow.
Thank you in advance

Doug

blackhawk

Re: new to primitive archery
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2012, 12:12:04 pm »
Welcome to PA ...your in the right and bestest of places here ;)

The top woods in your area to look for to get started is hophornbeam,elm,hickory,black locust,and some of the lessers in my opinion wood be any of the oaks,white ash.

Any one of those woods mentioned besides black locust,you just peel the bark off and thats the back of your bow. And youll have to chase a heartwood ring on black locust if you cut that. But anything you cut now you can be shooting a month later by reducing it to a stiff floor tiller,and setting it in a warm dry place for a month to cure. And in the meantime you can go cut some more wood cus your gonna need it cus making bows is worse and more addicting than crack.

Some folks will say go buy a red oak or hickory board and blah blah blah..lol :laugh:..ill let those who are all for that explain it

Offline Del the cat

• Derek Hutchison Native Wood Self Bows
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2012, 12:17:48 pm »