Author Topic: Hickory backed osage with hickory power lam  (Read 1695 times)

Offline hedgeapple

Hickory backed osage with hickory power lam
« on: April 13, 2012, 01:04:34 am »
I just got this bow tillered out today.  In the picture, the tips aren't reduced.  I did that this evening but it was too later for photos

I've wanted to try a decrowned osage with hickory back for awhile.  My first attempt failed because of a glue line failure.  I'm still learning how to do glue ups.

The roughed out stave had a reflex, but after sanding it flat, it took a deflex.  For that reason I felt I should try to flip the tips a bit.  My first attempt on flipping tips.  After sanding the osage was too thin in the handle area, about .5" , with hickory backing it would be about .66".  I had two options, glue on a riser and make a stift handle bow: Or, try a power lam strip.  The stave was only 58" and I really wanted a slightly bendy handle.  So, I went the power lam route.  My first attempt at this, also.

I glued in about 2" for reflex, know this piece of wood had deflex tendancies I fully expected to lose that in the tiller process.

She's 56 1/4 ntn.  48# at 26 1/2" draw  After unstringing she had about 5/8 set.  After resting about 1/4' set.

I'll be shooting her for the first time tomorrow and will let you know how she does.

Dave   Richmond, KY
26" draw

Offline gmc

Re: Hickory backed osage with hickory power lam
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2012, 01:22:04 am »
Can't wait to see this one up close.

Very nice bend on that bow.

Feel free to post more pictures.  8)
Central Kentucky

Offline hedgeapple

« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2012, 01:34:50 am »
Thank, GMC.  I figured I'd see how she shoots tomorrow and take some pics then.  If she does well, I'll dress her up like a debutant for a photo shoot.  She might even get some skins and some bison tip overlays.  ;
Dave   Richmond, KY
26" draw

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.