Author Topic: Finished my first bow, watcha think?  (Read 7503 times)

Offline Jodocus

Finished my first bow, watcha think?
« on: April 12, 2012, 02:57:52 pm »
Hello everyone,

I just made my first bow. It is made from a birch (Betula pendula) that had been cut last autumn and has been laying outdoors during the (rather warm and dry) winter. The log was roughly 16 inches thick. I used the outermost yearring as the bows back.
I did not measure anything, used an axe, a rasp, sandpaper and a scraper. The bow is as long as I m tall, 5‘8’’. At my full draw it is probably about 50 pounds. The arrow shelf is about half an inch above the bows center. On the back, I glued overlapping scales of the white birch bark, as I just love the look of that. It took about an inch of set while tillering and shooting the first 50 or so arrows.

I cant really tell if it shoots well, as I have no experience shooting bows. Right now, I cant even hit a large target from 10 yards. But I’m practicing hard.

Now, before starting the next one (I am making arrows at the moment): Having no experience at all, I probably overbuilt the bow a lot. Where could i have reduced weight? Is there a way to find out, I mean, except breaking bows?
Also, as you see, I still got the tillering string on it. Is it at a good length like this? How about the tiller? Limbs and fades are not the same length, since I wanted the arrow to pass close to the bows center. Was that a good idea?

I would appreciate all advice on how to modify this one or go about the next bow. I got some nice maple staves seasoning, some more of that birch and a short (4’5’’) but otherwise perfect yew stave. Some more wood is still standing, but on my radar. I love the wood hunting, I got to say.  Bow hunting or fishing is strictly illegal here in Switzerland, so I will mainly want to target-shoot and have fun in whatever vegetarian way there is to have fun with a bow.

Thanks and greetings
Don't shoot!

Online Del the cat