Author Topic: Sinew vs. bamboo?  (Read 3213 times)

Offline Newindian

Sinew vs. bamboo?
« on: April 01, 2012, 06:37:39 pm »
Ive done sinew backings befor and am thinking about doing a bamboo backing next. Although I have heard a lot of good things about both I don't know how they really compare. So just let me know some of the pros and cons of bamboo, and how well it dose next to sinew.
I like free stuff.

Offline Gordon

Re: Sinew vs. bamboo?
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2012, 07:15:41 pm »
Raw bamboo is as good a natural wood/fiber backing as you can get - but it does not compare to sinew.
Gordon

UserNameTaken

« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2012, 02:11:47 am »
I'm just a novice with poor tillering skills, but i think it might depend on the bows design. According to Tim Baker, sinew will make a bow sluggish if it's not highly reflexed (because it's twice as heavy as wood). You can read all about it on p.135 of the TBB, vol. 4.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2012, 02:20:02 am »
Bamboo has very little stretch. That is why it over powers some woods. Sinew is very elastic. That is where it gets its zip. I think a sinew backing actually takes more stress off of the belly.
  UNT, you are right about bow design and sinew. Sinew works best when it is highly stressed. If a bow is too long for its draw length the physical weight of the sinew/hide glue will slow down the recovery of the limbs. Bamboo on the other hand will add performance to any length bow if the proper design is chosen.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Badger

« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2012, 02:30:20 am »