Author Topic: Linen backed sassafras questions  (Read 1342 times)

Offline Adam

Linen backed sassafras questions
« on: March 29, 2012, 11:21:34 pm »
Hello everyone,
I'm relatively new to making bows, and I have only made selfbows to this point and haven't made any with a backing.  I have a sassafras stave that was given to me and I was thinking of backing it since I've been told it's a marginal wood for durability.  I was planning on using linen since I think sinew would tend to be over-powered for the compression strength of sassafras.  Is this correct?  Also, if I proceed with linen, do I just go to a fabric store and ask for linen or is there more than one type available?  When I glue it on, is Tite Bond II sufficient?  I really appreciate all the experienced people here who share their knowledge and help us newbies avoid a few mistakes!

Offline Bryce

• Global Moderator
  • Pacific Ghost Longbows
Re: Linen backed sassafras questions
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2012, 12:47:09 am »
When you go to the fabric store check labels makes sure its 100% linen. And titebond will work just fine.
Clatskanie, Oregon

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2012, 09:05:06 am »
I would say it should work fine,never made a sassafras myself but have a friend
that makes a lot of them,he backs them with a thin rawhide and that work good for him so I would think Linen should be fine. Looking forward to seeing it. :)
   Pappy
Clarksville,Tennessee
TwinOaks Bowhunters
Life is Good

Offline H Rhodes

« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2012, 10:04:56 am »