Author Topic: cut some yew today  (Read 3364 times)

Offline danny f

cut some yew today
« on: March 30, 2012, 05:57:01 pm »
hi there, thought id post a few pics of some yew that i cut today. there are slight bends in them but im hoping i can get a couple of decent staves from them. im a relative newbie to bow making but enjoy working with wood. just wondering what you guys think of these pieces and do they look ok for bow making. just wondering if the smaller diameter piece has enough heart wood. its gona be a long wait until they're dry enough to work with :-\. but i am looking forward to it. heres the pics thanks danny.

Offline Weylin

Re: cut some yew today
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2012, 06:02:40 pm »
It's too late for the bigger one but you should definitely leave the bark on the smaller one. the sap wood will crack as it dries without the bark to slow down the drying process. (don't ask me how I know this... ::)) I would slather the larger one in shellac as soon as you can to help counteract the checking. What are the diameters of the logs? and how thick is the sap wood?

Offline danny f

« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2012, 06:20:13 pm »
ooops i have debarked the smaller one too, i thought this had to be done. the diameter of the larger one is 5" with an average of about 10mm of sapwood. and the smaller is about 3" with an average of 10mm sapwood. i have sealed the ends with wood glue. what is shellac? is it some kind of varnish? what else could i use to seal it if i cant get hold of shellac? also i was thinking of splitting them in the morning so they dry a little faster. do i need to seal the whole thing once split or just the sapwood. sorry for all the questions just dont wana mess it up. thanks danny. :)

Offline DarkSoul

• Orion Bows
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2012, 07:27:41 pm »