Author Topic: My First Tiller  (Read 3940 times)

Offline ScottN

My First Tiller
« on: March 28, 2012, 10:54:22 am »
Hello, My name's Scott and am a future master bowyer! Actually not to sure about that last part   :D   

I just registered on this forum but have been looking around as a guest for quite some time. I am 25 and live in NJ. I am new to bow making and am getting into this for hobby/recreation. My interest in general history as well as medieval Europe is my inspiration for making them. Over the past 2 month's I have slowly been gathering all the necessary tools and learning the most I can, and making the needed jigs. Now I have something that is worthy of a post. I am also looking for some critique. I also posted this over at the Tradgang forum's, just trying to reach out to more people!

I have finally made it to the tillering stage. I am making it from a piece of Red Oak that I purchased at Home Depot. I was able to find a piece that had very nice and straight grain so I am going to attempt to complete this build with no backing. Here is my progress so far after some tillering with the long string.

In the first picture, I have the bow pulled down to 20". It still needs work. I can see the right side of the bow is a bit more stiffer than the left. I think it might be time for me to start tillering with a short string?

The middle picture is my bow unpulled. The set on the tips right now are about 7/8" at the bowyer knot, and 6/8" at the flemish knot. Give or take an eigth- the floor I measured on wasnt perfectly level.

The last picture on the right is the back of my wood. Took the best picture I could. Opinions on the grain?

The bow is 67" in length. It used to be 70" but after I finished cutting the nocks, I realized that I did them backwards! So I had to cut 1.5" off each end. My draw length is about 31".

left click on picture for it to open full size in a new window