Author Topic: first all wood bow pics!  (Read 15105 times)

Offline armymedic.2

first all wood bow pics!
« on: August 21, 2007, 10:21:46 pm »
after a lot of consideration, reading, studying, and hard work, ii came out with my first all wood bow. ( i made one before with a weird backing that i think cracked).  Anyway, i used hickory as bow wood, with a bamboo back.  The handle and rest are made of mahogany.  all tillering was done with a cabinet scraper.  rest was with a 4-way rasp.  the finish is clear coat.
Specs: 65# @26"
         72" nock to nock
   seems to like a 5 1/2"brace
i flight shot it today, and it made it 150 yards with my regular hunting arrows (there was about 5 mph wind) shoots to 20 yards just as fast as my 50# martin recurve

being that im a newbie, please feel free to criticise tiller and such so that i can improve next time.  I just hope it holds up so i can take a deer with it in a couple of months! so excited!

« Last Edit: August 21, 2007, 10:24:51 pm by armymedic.2 »
Some say freedom is free, well i have to disagree-
some say freedom is won, by the barrel of a gun.

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
Re: first all wood bow pics!
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2007, 10:32:07 pm »
  Looks a little over built, but it should be a reliable hunting bow.The tiller looks dead on.
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?

Offline Justin Snyder

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2007, 10:58:33 pm »
It looks great.  You should be proud if it is your first or tenth.  Like Eddie said, it looks plenty heavy built. Being boo backed hickory, it should last forever.  Justin
Everything happens for a reason, sometimes the reason is you made a bad decision.

SW Utah

Offline armymedic.2

« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2007, 11:16:18 pm »