Author Topic: ?? Knot on back of crab apple  (Read 4573 times)

Offline snedeker

?? Knot on back of crab apple
« on: August 22, 2007, 06:22:55 pm »
I have shaped up an unusually nice straight stave of c. apple, with a pretty good sized knot in the center of the back that I was able to place a couple inches below the taper area, i.e., 15" or so from the tip.  It stands proud of the back about the size fo a cross sectioned billiard ball.  I presume I want to leave it and scrape off the belly under it - like with a curved edge?  The belly can't be flat under it right? or it wouldn't bend enough.  I also left it a little wide in that area - extra 1/8"

I haven't really encountered many big knots like this before.  A good test.

Dave

Offline armymedic.2

Re: ?? Knot on back of crab apple
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2007, 09:40:44 pm »
my reading says you are ight to curve with it, but i have no experience with anything like that.  crab apple?   never heard of that before.  what's it cast like?  sounds cool
Some say freedom is free, well i have to disagree-
some say freedom is won, by the barrel of a gun.

Offline Otoe Bow

• Mike Chase, Afghanistan
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2007, 12:29:09 am »
AM.2:  I think that's the local vernacular for Osage or "Boe-Dark", or as the french say Boise-d-arc.  I may be wrong, cause I heard it also called Hedge Apple or Horse Apple. 

What do you say Dave?

By the way AM2, nice bow on your other post.  It looks very Mid-Evil, and as my grand-dad used to say, "Hell for Stout".

Otoe
So far, I haven't found any Osage or knappable rock over here.  Embrace the suck

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2007, 07:44:39 am »
Otoe,it's not Osage,it is more like an apple tree with little apple looking fruit on it.
Snedeker I would do what you plan on thinning the belly,you may have to leave it a little stiff there also,you just have to see how it bends. :)
   Pappy