Author Topic: BL fretting and how to prevent it  (Read 2854 times)

Offline Lee Lobbestael

BL fretting and how to prevent it
« on: March 18, 2012, 04:57:55 pm »
I have a bunch of black locust staves I split a year ago from October. I have never used BL before. I tried to make a self bow out of this past fall and it chrysaled somethin aweful! I thought the bow was tillered pretty well and it was a full 70" tip to tip so I'm not sure what happened. My thoughts were that maybe the moisture content was still to high, bow to narrow(1 1/2 pyramid), or because I didn't heat treat the belly. I was thinking of trying again but don't want it to happen again. Any ideas guys?

Online Pat B

• Administrator
Re: BL fretting and how to prevent it
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2012, 06:26:39 pm »
Locust is one of the strongest in compression woods in North America but it is brittle. That is why it frets so easily. A fret occurs when one area is working harder than the surounding wood. Dry wood, a flat belly, not over stressing the wood while you build the bow and having limbs that are wide enough(1 1/2" min) and long enough so you don't over stress the wood.
  Check out George's website. He works a lot of locust or at least he used to.  ;)
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

blackhawk

« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2012, 07:04:23 pm »
if you cut it in oct. then tried to make a bow a month or two later without properly drying it quickly,then id say your wood was too wet for sure.

Offline Buckeye Guy

« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2012, 07:12:37 pm »
I have not done a lot of Locust but the ones I did were 1 3/4" for about half the limb length then tapered to the tips
there is some crown on the back and I do a flat belly so the edges look very thin about 1/4 " the limb is about 3/8 " total thickness 
I hope that helps you !
I shoot  50lbs @28"