Author Topic: Crepe Myrtle staves galore!!  (Read 5553 times)

Offline lesken2011

• Kenny
Crepe Myrtle staves galore!!
« on: March 20, 2012, 12:54:55 am »
They were doing spring pruning in my neighborhood the other day. I'm still learning my trees, so I stopped and took some pics of some of the prunings and the trees they came from. You may remember I asked about Bradford Pears a few days ago. My neighborhood has many Bradford Pears and, as it turns out, Crepe Myrtles. Here is a pic of a typical BP..

Here is a crepe myrtle, at least that's what I was told.

As I came through the neighborhood, the other day, this is what I saw...

More...

Here is a BP missing a big limb...

Guess what? Normally the city in which I live takes weeks to get out and clean up the prunings. By the time I checked on this web site and other sources about whether these would be good bow woods, the city had already cleaned them up? Should I be sick? Do you guys see anything I missed of value?
« Last Edit: January 01, 2019, 10:42:25 am by lesken2011 »
For by grace you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves; it is the gift of God, not of works, lest anyone should boast.

Ephesians 2:8-9

Kenny from Mississippi, USA

Offline Elktracker

• Josh
Re: staves?? Should I be sick?
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2012, 12:59:14 am »
Too late now I wouldnt let it bother ya now ;)
 ;D

Josh
my friends think my shops a mess, my wife thinks I have too much bow wood, my neighbors think im redneck white trash and they may all be right on the money!!

Josh Vance  Netarts OR. (Tillamook)

Offline criveraville

• Psalm 127:4
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2012, 01:24:33 am »
I agree with Josh. Let it go man 8)

BUT since you asked, look up Ken75 crepe myrtle bows. Looks to be 30 plus CM bows just in that pile.

Cipriano
I was HECHO EN MEXICO, but assembled in Texas and I'm Texican as the day is long...  Psalm 127:4 As arrows are in the hand of a mighty man; so are children of the youth.

Offline Pat B