Author Topic: First Bow - Can it be saved?  (Read 4711 times)

Offline Walkingbird

First Bow - Can it be saved?
« on: February 29, 2012, 11:14:44 pm »
Hi all,
Well, this is my first attempt at making a bow and I would appreciate your advice.

I am embarrassed to say how much time I have into this project.
I thought it started out ok, then things looked bad, then I thought it could be saved, and now I am thinking I am wasting my time and it may make a couple of nice atlatls and or maybe a back scratcher.

What bothers me is the string from tip to tip.

The picture is from my cell phone and I hope the picture shows the string, but you should be able to see what I mean even if the string does not show.

Presently it is at 69" T to T, limbs are 1/2" thick, tips are 1/2 square, brace is rough and I have a lot of scraping to do to get it down to tillering weight.

Is there anything that can be done to save this bow or should I just scrap it now?

Walkingbird

Offline blackpanem

Re: First Bow - Can it be saved?
« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2012, 11:20:52 pm »
i dont know if i see it right or not but you could try steaming one of the limbs then bending it in a vice

Offline jermcramp1

« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2012, 11:26:05 pm »
Dont give up yet, I probably had 20 hrs or more into my first bow.

first advice is shoot for 30-40#, make it easy on yourself and build your confidence...

Someone on here did a how to on this issue..I think prop twist or something... took a pine slat and sanded one side of the belly so it twisted really bad...I'll look when I have time..

O more pics always help...
Even the dogs get the crumbs...

Offline JW_Halverson

« Reply #3 on: February 29, 2012, 11:31:21 pm »