Author Topic: Rawhide Backing HELP!!  (Read 4462 times)

Offline hook

Rawhide Backing HELP!!
« on: February 19, 2012, 10:06:43 pm »
Hey All!
I am going to Rawhide back my grandsons bow. Its a 43 1/2 inch osage and will be pilling 20 to 25 lbs at 20 inches.
I ordered rawhide from 3 rivers and it is about the thickness of a dime, one side rough and one side smooth.
QUESTIONS:
1. which side goes against the bow?
2. Is Tite Bond III good to use?
3. Does the rawhide go on wet?
4. Should I wrap it with tape or something (better) while it dries?
5. How long does it need to dry?
6. Anything else I should know because I've never tried it before......

as always, Many, many thanks.

Offline gmc

Re: Rawhide Backing HELP!!
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2012, 10:30:16 pm »
I have used this method more than a few times with excellent results.

http://www.stickbow.com/stickbow/selfbows/veneerII.htm

I haven't found a need to wrap a bow after installing the rawhide, but a lot of folks do.
Central Kentucky

Offline Bevan R.

« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2012, 10:40:22 pm »
The rawhide I have seen and used, the rough side was the inside of the animal. That is the side I glue down. If there is a lot of loose stuff, you can sand that side to clean it up.
I have used TBII to glue rawhide. TBIII has a darker color to it that I do not want.
I put the rawhide in luke warm water to soften it. them press it between a couple of towels before applying.
I use gauze wrap but you have to make sure there are no air bubbles and that the wrap does not slide the rawhide out of place.
I let dry a couple of days before I unwrap it. then several weeks before I work the bow.

Check out the build that Pat B just did on the winter project 1. Grate example of how to do it.
Bowmakers are a little bent, but knappers are just plain flaky.

Offline sleek

« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2012, 10:41:56 pm »