Author Topic: snakey bow wood ?'s  (Read 7348 times)

Offline Matt A

snakey bow wood ?'s
« on: February 08, 2012, 01:08:38 am »
OK. i am kinda new to making selfbows i have made 2 out of ash, but i have Osage, eastern hophorn beam, and American elm stave's that are now dry.
How do you go about getting the shape without violating grain(concentrating on narrowing towards the tips). and is there a certain way you have to tiller these snaky things differently than straight woods? cause my mind wants to think the limbs can twist if you tiller them like you would a straight limbed bow
all help would be appreciated thank you :-)

Offline Youngboyer2(billyf)

• Live by the man-née and the sa-wa.
Re: snakey bow wood ?'s
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2012, 01:16:11 am »
I'm working on a semi snakey bow and there are times that I wish that all trees grew perfectly straight for my convenience, the character aspect is worth it though and if you want a filleting challenge get one that snakes up and down and side to side >:D >:D. Almost any wood can end up with a snakey grain if you are unlucky enough(felt boo of course)
"You speak Treason!" "Fluently"-Robin of Locksley
When people ask "why didn't you do that the first time" you can be sure that they  have never made a bow before.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2012, 01:17:23 am »
The only difference between a snakey bow and a straight bow is the snakes. You draw out and shape the bow the same way.
 As you tiller the bow you control the twist by removing wood from stiff areas and leave the weak parts alone. You have to go slower, concentrate on what you are doing and don't get too far ahead of yourself as you go.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Matt A

« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2012, 01:21:29 am »
@Pat B
i have seen pictures of some layed out snake bows on here. so follow the lines untill you have to narrow down for the tips???