Author Topic: Can I salvage this Osage bow with rawhide backing?  (Read 3151 times)

Offline mississippidave

Can I salvage this Osage bow with rawhide backing?
« on: February 02, 2012, 07:20:53 pm »
Hey guys....I was just looking at an osage selfbow I started last year from a stave I got from Malcolm Parker.  The stave was very straight with few knots and natural reflex ...a dream....however, the rings are super tiny 1/32" to 1/64" and I was unable to get it down without violating one.  I got frustrated and put it up...After looking at it last night I think that I may try a rawhide backing..Design would be a regular flatbow 64" long 1.25" or so  at the flares with a 1 inch handle.  say 50lbs @26....Ideas?

Offline Lone500

Re: Can I salvage this Osage bow with rawhide backing?
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2012, 07:23:24 pm »
im new at this and ive never worked osage as it doesnt grow near me.

but from what ive heard the small ringed osage is kind of inferior stuff. Guess it could be used but it would probably be best to rawhide it whatever you make out of it
Leon      Saluda, NC

Offline PeteC

« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2012, 07:29:46 pm »
I've backed osage with rings that thin and it works good. Silk is a good backing as well for that job.I like it because it's so light,it does'nt seem to affect performance at all.

JMHO God Bless
What you believe determines how you behave., Pete Clayton, Whitehouse ,Texas

Offline gstoneberg

« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2012, 07:34:48 pm »
I've never seen a difference in bows made with thin vs. thick ringed osage, except for the time it takes to chase the ring.  Pete's right, rawhide or silk should protect the back just fine.

George
St Paul, TX

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: February 02, 2012, 07:48:37 pm »
From my experience I find thin ringed osage to have more zip. I generally back it with rawhide for protection.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC