Author Topic: Osage Orange practice sword for Aikido (bokken)  (Read 3695 times)

Offline Weylin

Osage Orange practice sword for Aikido (bokken)
« on: February 02, 2012, 11:40:47 pm »
In addition to being a novice bowyer I'm also a novice Aikidoist. (a Japanese martial art) We practice with wooden swords and staffs in addition to our empty handed techniques. As a gift to my instructor I decided to try my hand at wooden sword making. My thought process was that if I can make a bow I can make a bokken which is essentially a short curved bow that doesn't have to bend. I was pretty much right, it wasn't too tough. (though I'm positive that there are much higher levels of refinement that could be reached and mine is by no means perfect.) I decided to use osage orange because I am aware of it's amazing properties for bow making. It is dense, and tough as nails. It ranks right up there with impact-grade hickory in terms of it's impact resistance making it an excellent wood for a practice sword. I have a hickory sword, which is great, but they are so light that i thought it would be nice to have a sword with a little more heft to it. So I bought a osage board from my local woodworking store and ripped it to the right dimensions and started making shavings. I used dry heat  and weights to bend in the curve. that took a couple of tries to get it right but in the end I'm happy with the results. here are some pictures.

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
Re: Osage Orange practice sword for Aikido (bokken)
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2012, 12:09:32 am »
Nice Bokken. I have a Bokken, Jo, and Bo  from Taikaido. Real heavy dark wood, breaks oak in a heartbeat in full speed practice.
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?

Offline Weylin

Re: Osage Orange practice sword for Aikido (bokken)
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2012, 12:47:02 am »