Author Topic: Went looking for copperheads, found these...  (Read 12069 times)

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
Re: Went looking for copperheads, found these...
« Reply #15 on: July 29, 2007, 12:40:32 pm »
This is good thread.
I taught biology for 33 years and pretty much preached "if you don't eat it, don't kill it".  I studied spiders in grad school and don't kill them either and certainly don't eat them.
I'll guarantee you  that I would definately eat rattlesnake if offered up.  Anyway, if the snake is used for bow skins, then harvesting them is reasonable. I admire some of the "snake skins" done with paint or pens that some of you guys are talented enough to do.
Montana is not a very snakey state and our prairie rattlers don't get very big.  Rarely would one be big enough for  bow backing.
I never kill them and like to watch their behavior.
Two stories surfaced this early summer, though, about two painful snake bites victims that were darn glad a hospital was not too far off.  One fellow's young son had to row his Dad across a big river to get help for him.
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

Offline Justin Snyder

• Administrator
« Reply #16 on: July 29, 2007, 02:24:57 pm »
Well said Don.    Snakes can be dangerous. Just remember, in 87% of rattlesnake bite cases, alcohol was involved.  In the words of Jeff Corwin, "I don't think the snake was drinking."  Anybody who has killed a rattler and cut off the rattles and left the rest has missed a great tasting treat. Justin
Everything happens for a reason, sometimes the reason is you made a bad decision.

SW Utah

Offline Hillbilly

• I like tater tots.
« Reply #17 on: July 30, 2007, 11:43:11 am »