Author Topic: I Never Break Bows.  (Read 3309 times)

Offline Dictionary

I Never Break Bows.
« on: January 11, 2012, 09:09:54 pm »
I'm too cool for that  8)

I was making A maple 54 inch d bow with side nocks. Was drawing 40 lb at 17 inches. Wish i had taken pics of the tiller. I'm still a serious newbie at the game anyways so tillering a dbow was a bit new to me but felt a bit easier since i didn't have to worry about the fades. after drawing 17 inches, tiller looked good so i took some more passes with a rasp on each limb. Pulled it to about 40 lb at 18 or 19 inches on the scale(Plywood with a slit on top for the string). Then i put it on a tillering stick and pulled string down to 19 inches and Pop. It didn't crack or warn me of anything. It was like a peice of deadwood used for kindling snapping on you.

I've been looking over it.

Possiblities:

I had tried to get a twist out of the limb and scorched it a little bit. The limb that cracked was the one i tried heating(using propane gas grill. So maybe moisture content was too low? Most of the bows i've broken haven't snapped like this one so this is the most likely possiblity at the moment.

Wood used: Was a type of maple, but still not sure what kind. It grows fairly straight here but is usally a bit knotty.(This peice had a couple of knots)

There were no hinges. It seemed like an even bend, but its possible that the tiller was fooling my eyes.

It broke a few inches above a knot. I don't think the knot had effect on the break though, other than making it a little more difficult to tiller.

Better luck next time i guess.  Next time i'll go for 35#@25 or 26inches. Bow twenty something thats broken  :laugh:. Good for firewood

I know pics suck but any input that could help for the next bow attempt would be appreciated

"I started developing an eye for those smooth curves as a young man.  Now that my hair is greying and my middle spreading I make bows instead."

-JW_Halverson

Offline DRon knife