Author Topic: Black Locust ringchasing (newbee questions)  (Read 2729 times)

Henrik

Black Locust ringchasing (newbee questions)
« on: January 07, 2012, 10:16:37 am »
Hey all.

I'm very new to this hobby, only made a simple oak board bow that I snapped during a way to enthusiastic tillering.

Here in Denmark I luckily have access to Black Locust staves already split in quarters from a local lumberyard. Knowing more or less nothing about what to look for I purchased 4 staves and have been working on one of them removing the sapwood.

I made sure to look for somewhat straight staves, with as few knots as possible. I am afraid that I did not pay enough notice to the growth ring patterns. just below the 1/4" sapwood the rings are very densely packed, making ring chasing a very difficult process I think. 

Is this a stave that should be backed or does it not matter much when the rings are so close together if I violate one or two rings? Or is it more a question of patience and practice on my side to get one of the 0,5 mm (app 0,02 inches) thick rings across the stave?

Another thing, the last foot or so of the stave have a slight bend in it. (pic included) should I just cut the stave down at this point? or is it possible to make a nice bow out of the stave as is?

By the way, my only current option for backing material is bamboo. and I have heard that Boo and locust don't play well together, is this true? and if so would it still be possible using a very thin and tapered boo backing?

Henrik

Re: Black Locust ringchasing (newbee questions)
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2012, 10:26:40 am »
the two pics of the end is on the thick end. The top 1/5 of the stave looks like one large ring due to my poor camera, but it is really more like 11-12 rings there (app 1/2 inch)

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2012, 11:53:21 am »