Author Topic: I learned a ton today  (Read 4660 times)

Offline Ranger B

• Jimmy's Website
I learned a ton today
« on: October 24, 2011, 11:49:22 pm »
Guys, I've been making selfbows for quite a few years now and I never cease to learn, but today I learned and encyclopedia worth of knowledge.
I'm working on an osage selfbow. It is tillered perfectly at brace. To the millimeter every two inches both limbs were perfect but at full draw the top limb was 1/2" further than the bottom so 1/2" positive tiller. I also tillered this bow for shooting 3 under. If I have developed anything over the past year and a half it is a good bow arm. I absolutely let the bow fly to target when I release the string. Well, I shot the bow and it launched out of my hand. So I put the bow sling on and it ripped my wrist bad. I put the finger sling on and it liked to have pulled my thumb off. I literally have a bruise on my wrist. This bow was killing me. I was really frustrated so I put it on a tiller pulley with a grid so I could see each limb tip perfectly at full draw. The top limb was still 1/2" more than bottom so I tillered it perfectly even. Both limbs even at full draw. Perfect! Smooth as glass.

So, what did I learn? Well, once you release the string the limbs are only concerned with going back to their position at brace so an even tiller is fine. The string may be contorted but the limb tips are going back to brace. If those tips are uneven at full draw you will feel it in the grip. So, if you feel it in the grip how much is being manifested in the string? I'm not sure but I imagine it is.