Author Topic: Sapling Bow  (Read 9776 times)

wannabe

Sapling Bow
« on: July 06, 2007, 05:49:56 pm »
I must say I enjoy Primitive Archer immensely. I buy each issue it at my local grocer's newsstand. When I was a kid I read Larry D. Olson's Outdoor Survival Skills in which he shows how to make a sapling bow. My attempt at this as a kid was poor. So I thought I'd try again. I have to  say that I'm a terribly busy pastor of 4 rural congregations, so my work on the bow has been sporadic at best, but if you're interested in reading about it the project can be found at my blog.

http://theabrahamsons.blogspot.com/search/label/Bowyering

The posts at this site are latest at the top, so go to the bottom on Nov. 3rd, 2006 for the beginning. That's the month I discovered Primitive Archer.

I don't claim any skill, just interest and enjoyment. Thank you all for your posts. They have been very good reading.

Pr. Joseph Abrahamson
Oklee, MN

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
Re: Sapling Bow
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2007, 09:04:13 am »
Way to go, Pastor.Jawge
Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

wannabe

« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2007, 01:02:21 am »
I'm curious if anyone out there has experience making sapling bows and which species they have found work well.

Thanks,
Joe (Pr. Abrahamson)

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2007, 08:07:56 am »
I have made several using Hickory saplings and the work good.I have split some right down the middle and some left the handle when the size was right and just worked down each limb.Haven't
made any in a good while tho.I have also made them from Osage limbs about the same way.Looks
like you are coming along just need to work on your tillering a little and they will work out fine. :)
  Pappy
Clarksville,Tennessee
TwinOaks Bowhunters
Life is Good

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2007, 10:45:04 am »