Author Topic: Knappable Rocks? (pics)  (Read 4349 times)

Offline Lee Slikkers

Knappable Rocks? (pics)
« on: September 06, 2011, 07:12:38 pm »
Hey folks, I am a total newb when it comes to knapping and especially when it comes to identifying rock/stone from my locale that might work out for knapping.

Here are a bunch of pictures that I hope are decent enough to help make an ID and tell how well they might work.  I am located in lower southwestern MI and these collected from a local stream bed.  All of these stone have a "crust" or rind of some sort.  They also appear to come in colors ranging from light tan, medium gray on up to very dark gray coloration.

Thanks for the help & for looking~

I know this one isn't going to knap but I have found the occasional cyrstal pocket in these also...figured this example might help with an ID as well.

~ Lee

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
"The last word in ignorance is the man who says of an animal or plant: 'What good is it?"
— Aldo Leopold

Offline Lee Slikkers

Re: Knappable Rocks? (pics)
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2011, 12:06:37 am »
Anyone????
~ Lee

"The last word in ignorance is the man who says of an animal or plant: 'What good is it?"
— Aldo Leopold

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator
  • Eddie Parker
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2011, 12:23:48 am »
 Is it some kind of Slag? I know some of the guys that live up that way have talked about picking up slag from the iron or copper smelting areas.
Lakeland, Florida
 If you have to pull the trigger, is it really archery?

Offline Lee Slikkers

« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2011, 01:07:55 am »
No idea Mullet...is the crust why you are thinking slag?  Would slag come in a variety of colors like that on the core?

Maybe I'll get to find out, a fellow PA'r PM'd me and ask to try some heat treating on it to see what it flaked like so hopefully (no matter what it is) it will work ok for him/me.

thanks~
~ Lee

— Aldo Leopold

Offline mullet

• Global Moderator