Author Topic: Amateur Bowyer lookin for lessons!  (Read 3594 times)

Offline Aelerik

Amateur Bowyer lookin for lessons!
« on: August 27, 2011, 04:12:56 am »
Hey guys Im new to the awesome (but sometimes very frustrating) art of bowmaking and im having a little trouble. That being I dont know enough from doing it myself to acctually make any progress. Anyway I could read all day about it but I know alot of people out there are visual learners and learn better from experienced teachers. Point being Id like to know if anyone out there has a class or something like a workshop in my area. Please anyone else feel free to post the same question in this forum. I, for example live in Houston, and if theres anyone out there teaching a class to multiple people Id sure appreciate any help.

This was my first bow that I made and I just couldnt seem to get the hinges out as you can see its severely hinged at the ends to the point where whip-ended doesn't begin to even describe it.

Offline gstoneberg

Re: Amateur Bowyer lookin for lessons!
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2011, 07:58:21 am »
Welcome to PA.  If you'd said Dallas I would certainly help you, though I don't normally teach a class with multiple people.  What you're more likely to find is somebody building bows who'd be happy to have to drop by and show you the ropes.  For example, Gary is coming by this morning to work on his bow in my shop.  He lives on the other side of the DFW area so it's an hour or so to my place.  Like all of us, he's busy so he can only get free about once a month to work on his bow.  It's been almost a year since we started  We should shoot the first arrow out of it this morning.  I know he's excited, and so am I.

If you get up this way I would be happy to help.  Good luck, hopefully there's somebody close down there that can help you.

George
St Paul, TX

Offline Buckeye Guy

« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2011, 12:06:35 pm »
Welcome to PA !!