Author Topic: Osage bow build- along  (Read 5012 times)

youngbowyer

Osage bow build- along
« on: August 06, 2011, 10:44:08 pm »
Hi guys. its been a long time since i posted a bow on here. I think the last one was in february. Once spring came around i spent most of my days fishing for trout. I'm absolutely crazy once it comes to trout fishing. But some depressing things happend in my life and i needed something to take my mind of things. So i started working on bows again. Anyway getting back on topic again here's the back of an osage stave i'm working on. I finished chasing a ring(this is my first time chasing a ring) and i was wondering if this was the right way to handle knots on the back of a bow. I'll keep you guys updated on this bow.
« Last Edit: August 12, 2011, 12:12:46 pm by youngbowyer »

Offline gstoneberg

Re: knots on the back of an osage stave; how to deal with em?
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2011, 10:53:33 pm »
Looks good Tom.  The right side is done a little nicer than the left.  What you want to do is follow the ring around the knot without cutting it.  That knot may loosen up and come out as you start bending the limb.  You have good limb width there.  Should work out nicely.

George
St Paul, TX

Offline JW_Halverson

« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2011, 04:07:04 pm »
Just be sure to scrape or sand out ALL of the toolmarks around that knot before you get it bending much at all.  Knots are wonderful character and always draw a looker's eye to them.  On the other hand, they also draw all kinds of extra stress to themselves too and any toolmarks, scratches, or cracks will help focus the stresses and lead to further failure.  Can't wait to see more pics of the bow, keep posting.

Good luck!
Guns have triggers. Bicycles have wheels. Trees and bows have wooden limbs.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2011, 05:21:33 pm »