Author Topic: Trying again! Need help!!!  (Read 3649 times)

Offline threeundr

Trying again! Need help!!!
« on: July 30, 2011, 11:45:58 pm »
  This is my first time posting on this forum. I have followed this web site for a couple of years with great interest. I have built a few board bows with no success. :( It has been a year and a half since I have tried building a bow. I started a bow and got side tracked. Now after all this time I am feeling motivated to try again. The bow I am working on is a Hickory backed Birch bow. I took a Yellow Birch board and backed it with an 1/8th inch thick piece of Hickory. I have the profile all cut out and have been tillering it. I have taken my time, trying not to create any hinges. So far so good. This is my first time working with Yellow Birch and I don't want to mess it up. I have the limbs bending seven inches on the long string and the limbs are bending even. When should I switch to the short string? I would love to hear any advice ya'll can give on this project. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks, Leonard
Leonard Smith
Whitehouse,Tx.

Offline BowJunkie

Re: Trying again! Need help!!!
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2011, 12:26:08 am »
Do you have a picture you can post Leonard?
Also welcome aboard.
Johnny
in Texas
Johnny
in Texas

Offline threeundr

« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2011, 12:33:37 am »
 I am trying to find my camara. We just got back from vacation and I can't find anything. By the way the bow is 67" NTN, 2" at the fades tapering to 1/2" at the tips.

Thanks, Leonard
Leonard Smith
Whitehouse,Tx.

Offline gstoneberg

« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2011, 01:00:18 am »