Author Topic: Hairline Cracks on Maple Belly  (Read 4710 times)

Offline Prarie Bowyer

Hairline Cracks on Maple Belly
« on: July 24, 2011, 06:36:03 pm »
Hi all.

I'm new to bow making and have completed my first bow.  I made some classic mistakes with it but on whole it's a success.
http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=100000955187713&sk=photos

It's hickory backed bamboo and maple.  I got this brilliant idea after it was tillered and had some string follow to clamp it in a reflexed position overnight to let it take some set like that and get some string follow out.  Later when I realized I wasn't at full brace I braced it and drew it.  The backing split in 1/2, 1/2 across the back of the bow and split vertically for about 2".  I took it off and glued on another one.  I had a mild hinge and a pinhole knot in the backing right where it broke.  I re-tillered it and dropped the weight a bit because I also got these tiny little cracks in the belly.  I have soaked them in super glue but I don't think that will be sufficient.

the bow is about 35# at 28" (down from 58).  I put so much work into it I'd prefer not to loose it to those belly cracks.  I'm looking for attractive fixes.  I consider (1) Cutting them wider then filling the slot with crushed turquoise and impact strength super glue.  (2) Wrapping the the limb at that point with something like silk or nylon thread thread for 1-3 layers then coating over with epoxy.

I think it's a bit late to add another backing because I have the tip laminations on and a riser lamination.

I love the look of maple but it seems like it forms these cracks and bumps in the belly easily while tillering.  The cracks started before the clamping idea.  I'd shave them out and they would come back.  Perhaps Maple is a poor choice for belly or limb wood or it should be sandwiched between other things?

Thanks,
PB

Offline El Destructo

• Longhaired Crippled Hippie Biker And Proud Of It!!
    • Desert Sportz Primitive Archery