Author Topic: Laminated flooring to make bows?  (Read 11515 times)

Offline libero95

Laminated flooring to make bows?
« on: November 15, 2009, 10:00:17 pm »
Hi, I am new to bowmaking, in fact still trying to get wood to make my first. I live in New Zealand and Seem to be finding it difficult to find decent wood here. The guys I have talked to basically said as we are such a small market worlwide we get what everyone else does not want ( or as he put it " the crap" ). I run across someone on this forum that has said he has seen bows made from horizontally pressed bamboo flooring, Does any one know more about this? Also can I use laminated hardwood flooring like cherry or oak? I would like to be able to make some bows prior to investing in Good Bow wood staves as I suspect I am going to turn alot into expensive firewood otherwise. Any help greatfully accepted.

Offline aaron

Re: Laminated flooring to make bows?
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2009, 10:07:08 pm »
yeah, i have a bow which has a belly made of laminated bamboo flooring and the back is a "regular" bamboo back. the flooring is all bamboo, with no layers of plywood , veneer, or anything. the individual bamboo pieces within the boards are about the size of pencils only square- these pencils are glued into flooring (laid like bricks).its a 66 inch pyramid bow which is a great shooter and took less than 2 inches of set even after being accidentally strung for 3 days straight once!!! I'll bet you could back it with something else also.
Ilwaco, Washington, USA
"Good wood makes great bows, but bad wood makes great bowyers"

Offline bhenders

« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2009, 11:32:40 am »
Another vote for horizontal bamboo flooring.  Made one with belly of the flooring and back of bamboo and another with both back and belly made of flooring.  Both work well.