Author Topic: Need help Iding a tree again  (Read 2068 times)

Offline Bow Nut

Need help Iding a tree again
« on: July 02, 2011, 02:26:20 pm »
some type of evergreen I have been searching all over the internet to figure it out and just cant.  I broke a branch of to smell it and it is not cedar or a cedar with a smell anyway.  the limb was extremely flexable.  The tree is about 3 or 40 foot tall with about a 16 to 18 inch wide trunk.  Thanks in advanced everyone.  Yall have always been a big help.

Offline crooketarrow

Re: Need help Iding a tree again
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2011, 02:32:58 pm »
  CEDER
DEAD IS DEAD NO MATTER HOW FAST YOUR ARROW GETS THERE
20 YEARS OF DOING 20 YEARS OF LEARNING 20 YEARS OF TEACHING

Offline Weylin

« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2011, 02:33:52 pm »
I'm no expert but it sure looks like a cedar to me

Offline Lee Slikkers

« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2011, 02:35:47 pm »
Eastern Red Cedar aka Juniper

~ Lee

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
"The last word in ignorance is the man who says of an animal or plant: 'What good is it?"
— Aldo Leopold
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Offline Bow Nut

« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2011, 02:40:59 pm »
that was my first thoughts to but It has no cedar smell.  and has no cones or berries either so I was confused.  I know juniper is good and cedar is OK  We have a tone of cedars in GA but this is the largest I have ever seen and ever one I have ever cut not for bow wood as I am new to self bows had a strong cedar smell.  I have made benches and deer and turkey mounting plank's out of cedar I like taking one with a large Branch cutint right up the middle with the Branch sticking out and mount my turkey on that and attach it to a wall so it looks like a turkey on the roost of getting ready to fly down with wings half opened.

blackhawk

« Reply #5 on: July 02, 2011, 02:44:51 pm »