Author Topic: Found massaranduba + cutting tips  (Read 4456 times)

Offline turmoiler

Found massaranduba + cutting tips
« on: June 10, 2011, 05:03:55 pm »
Hi friends,

I've been lucky and I've found some massarabunda at my town's brico depot. I've brought two  flawless boards with almost perfect grain and size of 4 x 7 x 210 cm. I just have a question (or demand an opinion) ¿How do you will cut this boards to obtain maximum number of staves for backed bows and lams for backed bows with several lams?
I've never worked with this wood before but I know that is hard and heavy and that I will need smaller staves than other woods to obtain the same weight.

Some pics:

Thanks in advance!!!

Offline dragonman

• virabows.co.uk
Re: Found massaranduba + cutting tips
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2011, 05:19:10 pm »
Never tried this wood, but I think it hard like ipe, so if you're gonna back it, you only need around 1 1/4" of width and 3/8" at the fades will give around 60# for a 66" bow, if its not as hard as ipe you'll have to make adjustments. Looks like you found some real nice planks... bamboo would make a good back...
'expansion and compression'.. the secret of life is to balance these two opposing forces.......

Offline okie64

« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2011, 05:53:17 pm »
It is very similar to ipe. It doesnt need to be very wide or thick to get some serious poundage. I made a couple of D-bows with hickory backs on them a while back. I made one of them 65" long and 1" wide out to midlimb and then tapered to 5/16" tips and it ended up around 50#. The other one is 68" long and 1-1/4" wide to midlimb and then tapers to 3/8" tips and its around 70#. It is very pretty wood when its finished. Hope that helps you out and heres a pic of those bows.

Offline avcase

« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2011, 08:13:10 pm »