Author Topic: My First Primitive Arrow  (Read 4032 times)

Offline gstoneberg

My First Primitive Arrow
« on: May 07, 2011, 03:09:51 pm »
I tried my hand at a primitive arrow this morning.  I have it pretty much done except for hafting a head on it.  I'm not even sure what kind of wood it is, I traded with Crooketarrow for the shoots.  I'll post a before and after scraping picture and maybe he (or one of you) can ID it for me.

It was my first try at a self nock and putting feathers on with sinew.  These are turkey secondaries form birds I raised in Nebraska.

It looks crooked here, but I don't think it is? ???

The hole in the center of the shoot fit a 125 grain screw-in point so that was pressed into service so I could take a shot.  First try was right on the money, hope I can do that when the target is a hog.  The feathers are a little noisy, but it flies good.

Let me know what I should do differently, I'm new at this.

George

St Paul, TX

Offline Polar Bear

Re: My First Primitive Arrow
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2011, 04:22:02 pm »
Don't know the type of wood.  Arrow looks good.  You might try trimming the feathers a little at a time until they are quiet.  The bigger the feather the nosier they are.
When we do right no one remembers, when we do wrong no one forgets.

Offline criveraville

• Psalm 127:4
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2011, 08:18:25 pm »
Looks like you ar on the path to being verticly integrated in the primitive hunting :o

I bet you can bag some baccon with that arrow
I was HECHO EN MEXICO, but assembled in Texas and I'm Texican as the day is long...  Psalm 127:4 As arrows are in the hand of a mighty man; so are children of the youth.

Offline gstoneberg

« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2011, 08:30:24 pm »
I hope so C.  I hope we get into them next weekend.  Now that I have a trade point hafted, the front end looks like this: