Author Topic: first hackberry bow  (Read 11885 times)

Offline Iitchy

first hackberry bow
« on: April 17, 2011, 04:08:21 pm »
Ok so I am just starting out making bows and have a hackberry stave that is 72in long just cut and split today. I have pealed the bark of the back and going to start reducing the belly of the stave to just starting to floor tiller later tonight or tomorrow. Also should I go with a flat bow design or a long bow? I want to go with the one that is easiest to tiller.
Heres some pics of the stave so far.
Kristopher R. Oklahoma

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: first hackberry bow
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2011, 04:18:45 pm »
Welcome to PA, Iitchy.   You should probably seal the back and ends of your freshly cut stave. Carpenters glue will work fine for this but leave the split side(s) unsealed.  Hackberry would probably fair better as a flat bow. Tillering is not easy no matter which design you choose. Take your time, ask lots of questions and we can talk you through the process.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline hillbilly61

• Fly straight and true
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2011, 04:50:03 pm »
 Welcome Iitchy. You found a treasure chest full of knowledge her at PA ;)

Pat seems to have said about all that's needed 8)
I will say of the Lord,"He is my refuge and my fortress;
  My God, in Him I will trust."  Psalm 91:2

Offline toomanyknots

« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2011, 05:10:17 pm »
The easiest profile for me to tiller is a pyramid tapered limbed flatbow, or a pyramid bow, with a nonworking handle. Even on character full staves an attempt at a pyramid tapered limb seems to speed up the tillering process.
"The way of heaven is like the bending of a bow-
 the upper part is pressed down,
 the lower part is raised up,
 the part that has too much is reduced,
 the part that has too little is increased."

- Tao Te Ching, 77, A new translation by Victor H. Mair

Offline JW_Halverson