Author Topic: What are board bows? + Bow Shapes.  (Read 2931 times)

Offline Brent.Mac.

What are board bows? + Bow Shapes.
« on: October 24, 2011, 11:03:38 pm »
Hello everyone reading, just to let you know I'm a total beginner, so I'm just 'testing the waters' a bit, I'm working on my first bow now, and it's been a great learning experience for me!  This one might not be a shooter, but hopefully #2 will be!(Seems addicting >:D)

Anyway back on topic, I'm wondering what a board bow is?  Do you go to home depot and buy a plank of wood?  If you have made such a bow could you tell me what too look for and what kind of wood to look at.  General tips.  I don't think my parents want me cutting down too many trees :-[.  Do you generally have to back board bows? 

I've been looking at different bow "shapes" and found two that really stuck out, Penobscot and Mollegabet.  If you have any expirence with these I'd really appreciate the advice!

Thanks a lot everyone!
-Brent, the rookie :) 

Offline jturkey

• I wouldn't make it a habit calling me that!
Re: What are board bows? + Bow Shapes.
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2011, 11:19:23 pm »
yes brent board bows are boards bought at home depot lowes or any other lumbermill or store.you need to look for the straightest grain possible no run-offs. maple red oak and popular are what the homdepot here sells at reasonaable price. stay away from the popular though. gearge on here has a site but i don't know the link it has a lot of information on the board bows. i have made a mollegabet mine was out of a hichkory stave from a young hick that we cut down for smoking purposes.with the help of rich(half-eye) and ken both. (bow still shoots wonderfully to.)
 there is a lot of help on here and welcome it is very addictive lol.

doc

Offline M-P

• PA731115
    • Traveling Surgery
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2011, 11:20:59 pm »