Author Topic: I did some cutting today....  (Read 2876 times)

Offline HickoryBill

I did some cutting today....
« on: February 26, 2011, 11:07:43 pm »
I made a pretty good score on wood at my uncles today. I cut 4 pieces of sassafras, and 3 pieces of apple(not sure what kind) for bow wood. I've never worked apple before but I know that most fruit bearing trees will make good bows. I thought I saw a post by DanaM where he made a bow from apple??? A couple of the pieces are big enough to yield 2 good staves. And the best part: most of the wood is straight and knot free!!!  Any Idea how to treat these logs as far as dry time, debarking, and how long to wait for splitting??

The wood on the left is the sassafras, wood on the right is the apple

"He who hesitates usually misses"
"All you really need to make a bow and arrow are some sticks and a deer carcass"
Bill Stockdill
Clarion County Pennsylvania

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: I did some cutting today....
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2011, 01:57:48 am »
With small diameter logs it is difficult to split and get two good staves.  If you are sure the grain is straight(not spiral growth) you can band saw them in haly.When I do this with green wood I tie them back together with small wood spacers between to allow air flow. If you don't contain them they will draw up into too much backset and can twist. If I want backset I add it later.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline crooketarrow

« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2011, 08:14:30 am »
   Pats right sassafras's warps big time. Make sure your staves are well seasoned before you start. Never make and apple bow but my friend did a billet take down bow that turner out really good and snappy. I was Impressed with it.
DEAD IS DEAD NO MATTER HOW FAST YOUR ARROW GETS THERE
20 YEARS OF DOING 20 YEARS OF LEARNING 20 YEARS OF TEACHING

Offline HickoryBill

« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2011, 12:06:36 pm »