Author Topic: price for ipe  (Read 7058 times)

Offline fishfinder401

• noel laflamme noellaf2@cox.net
price for ipe
« on: February 24, 2011, 01:56:04 pm »
im new to this wood and was going to get a board to use and was wondering if 21.60 would be a good price for a 3-1/2 in wide, 1 in thick and 8ft long board
thanks
noel
warbows and fishing, what else is there to do?
modern technology only takes you so far, remove electricity and then what

Offline Josh

• Silence is golden but duct tape is silver.
Re: price for ipe
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2011, 02:06:37 pm »
I think that is about what I get it for.  There would be alot of bows in that piece as ipe can handle being very narrow.  Make sure you back it with either hickory or bamboo.  I have made Ipe bows as narrow as one inch.  (around 50 lbs.) I would get it if it were knot free and the grain looked halfway decent.  take a damp rag with you when you go to get the board so you can wipe it to see the grain.  Some boards it is hard to see the grain.
“The trouble with quotes on the Internet is you never know if they are genuine.” —Abraham Lincoln

Offline M-P

• PA731115
    • Traveling Surgery
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2011, 02:08:40 pm »
I think that's slightly higher than what I pay locally, but not bad.   $21 is much less than most staves.   If you split it down the middle and make ELB style bows, that's only $10.50 a bow!   If you resaw it into belly strips you'll be paying only~ $5 per strip.  That all sounds pretty good to me.    Ipe is so dense that it works best to make fairly narrow bows.  1" to 1 1/8" wide works for me, but others have made bows as narrow as 3/4".
Of course all that is predicated on the board having good straight grain.  Some boards definitely have swirls and run off.  The grain can be hard to read, so even the best boards are probably best backed with something to prevent lifting splinters.
Ron
"A man should make his own arrows."   Omaha proverb