Author Topic: problems with nocks  (Read 7016 times)

Offline fishfinder401

• noel laflamme noellaf2@cox.net
Re: problems with nocks
« Reply #15 on: February 13, 2011, 03:41:14 pm »
For a bow that heavy your design is not very practical from what I can see. If you are interested in heavy bows, check out the War Bow thread. Those guys build very heavy bows and are familiar with what is needed to support such high draw weights. Most of us guys here on the "Bows" thread build bows of hunting and target weights, about 1/2 or less of what you want to build.
ok, im just wondering what isn't practical, im new to this and id'e like to know
warbows and fishing, what else is there to do?
modern technology only takes you so far, remove electricity and then what

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #16 on: February 13, 2011, 04:35:50 pm »
The wide thin limb tip with a single deeply cut nock at a steep angle. The string is putting the full weight of the draw down in the nock cutout over the end grain of the stave. Like driving a 100#+ wedge into the end of the bow.  With a thicker and narrower tip your string groove can go around the bow still supporting the draw weight all the way around.
  For that tip design I would be sure to have overlays and possibly underlays at the tip to prevent the string from "wedgeing" into the wood end grain. You might even get away with kerfing the tip and adding a tough spine of horn, bone or cross grain hardwood.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline fishfinder401

« Reply #17 on: February 13, 2011, 04:41:09 pm »
The wide thin limb tip with a single deeply cut nock at a steep angle. The string is putting the full weight of the draw down in the nock cutout over the end grain of the stave. Like driving a 100#+ wedge into the end of the bow.  With a thicker and narrower tip your string groove can go around the bow still supporting the draw weight all the way around.